RAJESH KUMAR - Cricket Statisticians
SA Cricket Annual 2011

SA Cricket Annual 2011
Edited by Colin Bryden
Statistics by Andrew Samson

Published by Standard Bank of South Africa
P.O. Box 62325
Marshalltown 2107, South Africa

Pages : 648

South African Cricket Annual is the most respected cricket publication - the 17th under the editorship of veteran cricket writer Colin Bryden. Only the legendary Geoffrey Chettle, who edited the first 22 editions, had a longer tenure as Editor of this prestigious Annual.

Pleasantly packaged and liberally illustrated, it is a veritable mine of information which whets the appetite for further exploration.

Colin Bryden considers Gary Kirsten's appointment as the national team coach effective from August 1, 2011 as an exciting development. In his editorial, Bryden
commented: "Kirsten enjoyed outstanding success during his stint in charge of the Indian team, taking India to the top of the ICC Test rankings and capping his stewardship with victory in the Cricket World Cup.

"With the exception of Graeme Smith continuing as Test captain, there will be new leadership of the various South African teams in the coming season," remarked Bryden. With Russell Domingo as assistant coach and Allan Donald as bowling coach, South Africa will have an entirely new 'brains trust' at a time when new thinking and new energy is appropriate, believes Bryden.

Robin Peterson, Colin Ingram, Imran Tahir, Zander de Bruyn and Francois 'FAF' Du Plessis have been adjudged as Five Cricketers of the Year.

Jacques Kallis has been named South African Cricketer of the Year at the annual Cricket South Africa awards banquet in Midrand on June 7, 2011. It was the second time he got the premier award, which he also won in 2004, the year in which the awards were inaugurated.

Andrew Samson has done an outstanding job, deserving full credit for meticulously-compiled records' section, comprising South African Tests, ODIs, Twenty20 Internationals apart from first-class cricket. ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 also features in this excellent Annual.

Twelve pages have been devoted to Obituaries' section and 29 pages to Who's who 2008-09.

Well-organised and excellently produced, it is a plesure to review SA Cricket Annual 2011 (the 58th volume of the Annual), sponsored tastefully by Standard Bank South Africa.